Skip to content

You are here :   Home » Organizations » FFTNL


Flag and coat of arms
Presidencies and directors





La Fédération des francophones de Terre-Neuve et du Labrador (FFTNL) is a not-for-profit organization that defends and promotes the rights and interests of the Francophone and Acadian communities in Newfoundland and Labrador. The FFTNL works to protect the rights of Francophones in minority situations. Its mission is to promote and facilitate the development of Francophonie in Newfoundland and Labrador. The FFTNL was created by members of the community for the purposes of targeted lobbying and public consultation.

FFTNL presentation :

Présentation de la FFTNL
(709 Ko)

Flag and coat of arms


To see the coat of arms, click here.

Adopted in 1986, the flag symbolizes the pride and vitality of Francophones in Newfoundland and Labrador. It consists of panels of blue, white, and red, reflecting their French origins. In addition to symbolizing action and progress, the two sails commemorate the arrival of their French ancestors to the area. The yellow of the sails represents the color of the star of Acadie and was formerly associated with the French fleur-de-lis. The upper sail is charged with a twig from a black spruce, the provincial tree, and the lower sail bears a pitcher plant, Newfoundland and Labrador’s provincial flower.
Designed by Lily Fortin – St. John’s


Who can join the FFTNL?

Francophone organizations may be a member of the FFTNL if:

  • they have a Provincial mandate and are working in a specified theme;
  • they are the spokespersons for their region.

May not be members of the FFTNL:

  • organizations that do not meet two criteria stated above
  • individuals

Note: The information above is informative. Only the rules and regulations of the FFTNL are authentic.

Presidencies and directors

Successive presidencies

Roger CLARK, 1973-1975, Président fondateur
Peter HEFFERNAN, 1975-1978
Robert CORMIER, 1978-1979
Roger CHAMPAGNE, 1979-1981
Roger ROY, 1981-1984
Robert CORMIER, 1984-1986
Claude DESROCHERS, 1986-1990
Mireille THOMAS, 1990-1995
Jean-Guy DIONNE, 1995-2005
Julio CUSTODIO, 2005-2013
Cyrilda POIRIER, 2013- aujourd'hui

Successive Management

Paul Charbonneau
Robert Cormier
Francine Labrie
Conrad Tittley
Francine Labrie
Hélène Davis
Ali Chaisson
Cyrilda Poirier
Gaël Corbineau

Fédération des francophones de Terre-Neuve et du Labrador (FFTNL)
65, chemin Ridge, 2e étage, bureau 233
St. John's (Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador)
A1B 4P5

Date d'impression : 2021-04-15
Téléphone : 709-722-0627
Télécopieur : 709-722-9904
Courriel :
Site Internet :